Gallman, Childers Earn Student-Athlete of the Year At Upstate's Pespi Awards Banquet

Gallman, Childers Earn Student-Athlete of the Year At Upstate's Pespi Awards Banquet

April 26, 2010

Spartanburg, S.C. - The USC Upstate Athletics Department handed out 75 awards and men's golfer Josh Gallman and softball pitcher Morgan Childers earned the department's top honor in being named the Student-Athlete of the Year at the annual Pepsi Athletics Awards Banquet Monday night in the Campus Life Center Ballroom on campus.

Gallman, a senior from Gaffney, S.C., earned his second Male Student-Athlete of the Year award after sharing the honors with Luke Payne on as a sophomore in 2008. He just completed a tremendous year that punctuated a standout career. He won three individual tournament championships this season, including the Fossum Invitational at Michigan State which concluded Sunday. He tallied eight top five and nine top 10 finishes in 11 events this season and finished no lower than 17th in any tournament this year. He broke his own single-season stroke average record, averaging 71.4 this season. He owns every career and single-season school record, including seven career wins, 21 top five finishes, 33 top 10 finishes, a 72.7 stroke average and a .869 winning percentage. He became the first Upstate golfer to break into the top 100 in the world amateur ranking by the R&A earlier this season and has been ranked in the top 75 in all of college golf throughout the season. He is also a standout in the classroom, carrying a 3.73 GPA as a business marketing major. He was inducted into the prestigious Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Fraternity in the George Dean Johnson, Jr., College of Business, and is a three-time A-Sun All-Academic selection.

Childers, a junior from Kings Mountain, N.C., earned her first Female Student-Athlete of the Year award after turning in a record-breaking season and gaining national recognition for her prowess in the circle. She currently leads the nation with 29 wins, while ranking in the top seven in five other statistical categories. She tops the A-Sun in wins, strikeouts (372), batters struck out looking (88), innings pitched (227.0) and starts (31), while ranking second with a 0.94 ERA and a .118 opponent batting average. She broke her own single-season strikeout record with 372 and counting (USC Upstate has four more regular season games and potential for more in the A-Sun Tournament). Already the owner of the school's all-time strikeout record, she broke Upstate's career records for wins (79) and shutouts (30). She has also made a name for herself in the A-Sun. She has moved into second place all-time on the conference's strikeouts list with 907. She also ranks in the top 10 all-time with a 1.31 ERA and 30 shutouts. She has thrown two no-hitters this season, raising her total to a program-best four in her career. In addition to being a standout softball player, she has been a strong student in the classroom. She carries a 3.47 GPA as a secondary education major and is a two-time A-Sun All-Academic selection.

In addition to the Student-Athlete of the Year awards, 11 senior student-athletes were given the Dr. Joe Bowman Pinnacle Award for outstanding career athletic accomplishments. The 11 award winners were Renzo Airaldi (men's tennis), Matt Branham (baseball), Morgan Bucciferro (volleyball), Crislyn Chewning (softball), Josh Gallman (men's golf), Courtney Hawkins (women's basketball), Michael Lawrence (men's golf), Jack Roux (men's tennis), Nick Schneiders (men's basketball), Jimmy Tanner (baseball) and Javier Tori (men's tennis).

Mr. Cleveland S. Harley was presented with the University's Distinguished Gold Dome Award for his continued leadership and support of USC Upstate. Mr. Harley played a key role in the establishment of the University as a member of the Spartanburg County Commission on Higher Education and has continued his support since its opening. In particular, he has provided the financial backing for Harley Park, now in its seventh year as the home of the Upstate baseball program.

Diane Daane, George Labanick, Carol Loar and Myra Segars-Szustak were presented the Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award for their leadership in the University's NCAA Self-Study process. Their leadership in the process has been instrumental as Upstate moves toward full certification as a Division I member next year.

Athletics Department Awards
Student-Athlete of the Year
Female - Morgan Childers, Softball
Male - Josh Gallman, Men's Golf
Dr. Joe Bowman Pinnacle Award
Renzo Airaldi - Men's Tennis
Matt Branham - Baseball
Morgan Bucciferro - Volleyball
Crisyln Chewning - Softball
Josh Gallman - Men's Golf
Courtney Hawkins - Women's Basketball
Michael Lawrence - Men's Golf
Jack Roux - Men's Tennis
Nick Schneiders - Men's Basketball
Jimmy Tanner - Baseball
Javier Tori - Men's Tennis
Distinguished Gold Dome Award
Cleveland S. Harley
Team of the Year
Men's Tennis
Outstanding Faculty/Staff Award
Diane Daane, George Labanick, Carol Loar, Myra Segars-Szustak
Team GPA Award
Female - Softball
Male - Men's Soccer
Academic Excellence Award
Female - Brittany Daughtry, Women's Soccer
Male - Josh Gallman, Men's Golf
Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Leader of the Year
Michael Meissner - Men's Track & Field
Leadership Award
Kim Brasil - Softball
Crislyn Chewning - Softball
Brian Dempsey - Baseball
Josh Gallman - Men's Golf
Courtney Hawkins - Women's Basketball
Megan Healey - Volleyball
Koko Richardson - Women's Basketball
Michael Meissner - Men's Track & Field
Javier Tori - Men's Tennis
Mezie Uzochukwu - Men's Basketball
Sportsmanship Award
Monica Hall - Softball
Megan Healey - Volleyball
Cedric Koffi - Men's Basketball
Pat Regna - Men's Soccer
Emily Sanders - Volleyball
Keri Sarratt - Softball
Mezie Uzochukwu - Men's Basketball
Spartanburg Regional Sports Medicine Award
Philip Brannon - Baseball
Outstanding Freshman Award
Female - Tee'Ara Copney, Women's Basketball
Male - Gilbert Kemboi, Men's Cross Country, Track & Field
Sprint Spartan of the Week Award
Morgan Chidlers - Softball
Nick Schneiders - Men's Basketball
Wilde Soccer Scholarship Recipient
Female - Ashlee Barrow
Male - Timo Foerster

Team Awards
Baseball - Will be announced after the season
Men's Basketball
Most Valuable Player - Nick Schneiders
Coach's Award - Mezie Uzochukwu
Women's Basketball
Most Outstanding Player - Chelsea McMillan
Coach's Award - Sharniece Wadelington
Men's Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner - Gilbert Kemboi
Women's Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner - Carolyne Chelulei, Jemeli Sang
Men's Golf
Most Outstanding Player - Josh Gallman
Team Player Award - Josh Gallman
Women's Golf
Most Outstanding Player - Jennifer Judge
Team Player Award - Johanna Ebenhag
Men's Soccer
Offensive Most Valuable Player - Maurice Beggs
Defensive Most Valuable Player - Patrick Regna
Women's Soccer
Coach's Award - Ashlee Barrow
Most Valuable Player - Morgan Childers
Most Outstanding Offensive Player - Crislyn Chewning
Men's Tennis
Most Valuable Player - Jack Roux, Javier Tori
Women's Tennis
Best Overall Record - Simona Cacciuttolo
Hardest Worker - Simona Cacciuttolo
Men's Indoor Track & Field
Most Valuable Track - Gilbert Kemboi
Most Valuable Field - Eric Chapman
Captain's Award - Michael Meissner
Women's Indoor Track & Field
Most Valuable Track - Carolyne Chelulei
Most Valuable Field - Camille Masanotti
Men's Outdoor Track & Field
Will be announced following the A-Sun Championships
Women's Outdoor Track & Field
Will be announced following the A-Sun Championships
Spartan Award - Megan Healey
Push Award - Kelsie Queen
Coach's Award - Perrish Goggins
Team Choice Award - Brittany Evans